Contact Us

Fill in the contact form opposite and we will get back to you shortly. Alternatively use the contact details listed below
02921 845852
wcrc@cardiff.ac.uk
Wales Cancer Research Centre,
Room 1TB2 31,
First Floor Main Building,
University Hospital of Wales,
Cardiff, CF14 4XN

Multidisciplinary Research Groups

We support the facilitation of six multidisciplinary research groups (MDRGs) to encourage cross discipline discussion and to promote research collaborations. Five groups focus individually on cancer sites (breast, colorectal, prostate, lung and brain cancer research) and the sixth specialises in radiotherapy, with each group chaired jointly by a clinician and a scientist.

The MDRGs are developing independently and, by addressing issues specific to the tumour type of interest, and harnessing the huge wealth of knowledge and expertise within the groups, they are exploring innovative methodologies and proposals to expedite research for ultimate patient benefit.

Membership includes, but is not limited to: surgeons, oncologists, pathologists, radiologists, physicians, scientists, research nurses and lay representatives. Representatives from the All Wales Medical Genetics Service and the Wales Cancer Bank are also part of the groups to advise and assist with formulating research ideas that include genetic analysis and bio-sample and/or data collection.

Involvement of such a wide range of research active disciplines is initiating new and exciting ideas for joint research proposals and a master template protocol has been developed to facilitate submission of these proposals to the Clinical Research Portfolio.

Groups have been meeting virtually since the onset of COVID-19, and are still open to anyone who is interested in participating from across higher education institutions and the NHS across Wales.

If you are interested in joining a group, or multiple groups, please contact the relevant chairs:

Area

Group Chair(s)

Chair Contact Details

Brain

Dr. James Powell

Dr. Florian Siebzehnrubl

James.Powell2@wales.nhs.uk 

fas@cardiff.ac.uk 

Breast

Prof. Peter Barrett-Lee
Dr. Julia Gee

Peter.Barrett-Lee@wales.nhs.uk
Gee@cardiff.ac.uk

Colorectal

Prof. Dean Harris

Prof. Richard Adams

Dean.A.Harris@wales.nhs.uk 

Richard.Adams@wales.nhs.uk

Lung

Dr. Kate Milward

Dr. Najmus Sahar Iqbal

MilwardK@cardiff.ac.uk

najmus.iqbal@wales.nhs.uk

Prostate

Prof. Howard Kynaston
Dr. Helen Pearson

kynastonh@cardiff.ac.uk / howard.kynaston@wales.nhs.uk
PearsonH2@cardiff.ac.uk 

Radiotherapy

Dr. Paul Shaw

Paul.p.shaw@wales.nhs.uk

MDRG MEETING DATES

Brain –  14th July 2021 4pm via Zoom

Breast – 3rd June 2021 2pm via Zoom

Colorectal – TBC

Lung –  TBC

Prostate – TBC

Radiotherapy – 30th June 2021 3pm via Zoom

Gynae- 25th June 2021 - further details TBC